CLP2140

Abnormal Psychology

Course Code: CLP2140

Credit Hours: 3

Effective beginning: 2021-22

 

Course Description:
A course which concentrates on the description, causes and treatment behavioral disorders as seen from the viewpoint of the major theoretical models of abnormal behavior.

Course Details

Prerequisites:

PSY 2012

Instructors:

Sarah Gambill
gambills@chipola.edu

Lennetta Loman-Greene
greenel@chipola.edu

Rachel Rackard
rackardr@chipola.edu

Tameka Russ
russt@chipola.edu

Willie E. Spires
spiresw@chipola.edu

Kassandra Starrine
starrinek@chipola.edu

Allison Hausner
hausnera@chipola.edu

Jessica Craven
cravenj@chipola.edu

 

 

 

 

Required textbooks/ course materials:

Lyons, Charles, Barclay Martin, and Willie E. Spires. Psychopathology: Clinical Perspectives and Treatment Modalities (Looseleaf). 5th ed. Redding: BVT, 2011. Print.

ISBN: 97816118828316

 

Assignment/course outline:

See your Instructor First Day Handout for individual instructor assignment schedule.

 

Discipline-level learning outcomes:

SS-1  Identify behaviors and social trends using appropriate research methologies,

SS-2  Identify global influences on social, behavioral, and historical issues.

S-3  Examine significant historical events.

SS-4 Identify differences and commonalities within diverse cultures.

 

Course-level student learning outcomesDiscipline-level learning outcomesAssessment methods

Identify appropriate methods, technologies and data that social and behavioral scientists employ to investigate the human condition.

Examine a variety of behavior psychopathologies and the various treatment modalities used in treating these disorders.

Analyze how psychology impacts our lives.

Examine the etiologies and the theories that are associated with psychological disorders.

 

SS-1, SS-2, SS-3, SS-4

SS-1, SS-2, SS-3, SS-4

SS-1, SS-2, SS-3, SS-4

SS-1, SS-2, SS-3, SS-4

Quizzes, Documented Essays, Unit Tests, Final Exam

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Read all assigned materials.
  2. Attend and participate in class discussions.
  3. Complete study guides and notes from class discussions and lectures.
  4. Courses taught under the auspices of the Social and Behavioral Sciences will include an oral component, oral presentations and/or classroom discussions. Note: Online and Distance Learning Courses will not contain the oral component.

Chapters are as follows:

  • Introduction
  • Classification, Diagnosis, and Assessment
  • Stress, and Stress-Related Disorders
  • Anxiety Disorders
  • Somatoform and Dissociative Disorders
  • Personality Disorders
  • Mood Disorders and Suicide
  • Schizophrenia and Psychotic Disorders
  • Sexual and Gender Identity Disorders
  • Substance-Related Disorders
  • Eating, Sleep, and Impulse Control Disorders
  • Disorders of Infancy, Childhood, or Adolescence
  • Delirium, Dementia, Amnestic, and Other Cognitive Disorders
  • Legal, Ethical, and Professional Issues in Abnormal Psychology

College-wide policies and resources

For more specific information on Chipola's college-wide academic policies and resources available to students, visit the link below.