DEP2102

Child Psychology

Course Code: DEP2102

Credit Hours: 3

Effective beginning: 2021-22

 

Course Description:
A course with application to an objective study of the preadolescent child. Preadolescent physical, psychological, and social development are studied. Special problems of child training in the family and of social adjustment at school are discussed.

Course Details

Instructors:

Tameka Russ
russt@chipola.edu

Willie E. Spires
spiresw@chipola.edu

Rachel Rackard
rackardr@chipola.edu

Kassandra Starrine
starrinek@chipola.edu

Lennetta Loman-Greene
greenel@chipola.edu

Sarah Gambill
gambills@chipola.edu

Allison Hausner
hausnera@chipola.edu

Jessica Craven
cravenj@chipola.edu

 

 

 

Required textbooks/ course materials:

Rathus, Spencer A. CDEV2: Child and Adolescent Development. 2nd ed. Boston: Cengage Learning, 2018. Print. ISBN: 9781337116947

 

Assignment/course outline:

See your Instructor First Day Handout for individual instructor assignment schedule.

 

Discipline-level learning outcomes:

SS-1 Identify behaviors and social trends, using appropriate research methodologies.

SS-2 Identify global influences on social, behavioral, and historical issue.

SS-3 Examine significant historical events.

SS-4 Identify differences and commonalities within diverse cultures.

 

Course-level student learning outcomesDiscipline-level learning outcomesAssessment methods
  • Outline fundamental theories and scientific research of child development throughout the lifespan.
  • Analyze the historical (aspects and key concepts of child development.
  • Deliver a well-developed oral presentation using computer technology

SS-1, SS-2, SS-3, SS-4

SS-1, SS-2

SS-1

Tests, Cumulative Final, Report/Presentation, Projects, Skills Demonstration

 

  • Read all assigned materials.
  • Attend and participate in class discussions.
  • Complete study guides and notes from class discussions and lectures.
  • Courses taught under the auspices of the Social and Behavioral Sciences will include an oral component, oral presentations and/or classroom discussions. Note: Online and Distance Learning Courses will not contain the oral component.

Chapters are as follows:

  • History, Theories and Methods
  • Heredity
  • Conception and Prenatal Development
  • Birth and Newborn Baby: In the New World
  • Infancy: Physical Development
  • Infancy: Cognitive Development
  • Infancy: Social and Emotional Development
  • Early Childhood: Physical and Cognitive Development
  • Early Childhood: Cognitive Development
  • Early Childhood: Social and Emotional Development
  • Middle Childhood: Physical and Cognitive Development
  • Middle Childhood: Cognitive Development
  • Middle Childhood: Social and Emotional Development
  • Adolescence: Physical Development
  • Adolescence: Cognitive Development
  • Adolescence: Emotional Development

 

College-wide policies and resources

For more specific information on Chipola's college-wide academic policies and resources available to students, visit the link below.