DEP2102

Child Psychology

Course Code:
DEP2102

Credit Hours:
3

Effective beginning:
2022-23

Sections:
700

 

Course Description:
A course with application to an objective study of the preadolescent child. Preadolescent physical, psychological, and social development are studied. Special problems of child training in the family and of social adjustment at school are discussed.

 

Course Details

Instructors:

Tameka Russ
russt@chipola.edu

Willie E. Spires
spiresw@chipola.edu

Rachel Rackard
rackardr@chipola.edu

Kassandra Starrine
starrinek@chipola.edu

Lennetta Loman-Greene
greenel@chipola.edu

Allison Hausner
hausnera@chipola.edu

Jessica Craven
cravenj@chipola.edu 

 

Required textbooks/ course materials:

Rathus, Spencer A. CDEV2: Child and Adolescent Development. 2nd ed. Boston: Cengage Learning, 2018. Print. ISBN: 9781337116947

 

Assignment/course outline:

See your Instructor First Day Handout for individual instructor assignment schedule.

 

Discipline-level learning outcomes:

SS-1 Identify behaviors and social trends, using appropriate research methodologies.

SS-2 Identify global influences on social, behavioral, and historical issue.

SS-3 Examine significant historical events.

SS-4 Identify differences and commonalities within diverse cultures.

 

Course-level learning outcomes:

Course-level student learning outcomesDiscipline-level learning outcomesAssessment methods
  • Outline fundamental theories and scientific research of child development throughout the lifespan.
  • Analyze the historical (aspects and key concepts of child development).
  • Deliver a well-developed oral presentation using computer technology.

SS-1, SS-2, SS-3, SS-4

SS-1, SS-2

SS-1

Tests, Cumulative Final, Report/Presentation, Projects, Skills Demonstration

 

Means of accomplishing learning outcomes:

Students will read all assigned materials.

Students will attend and participate in class discussions.

Students will research and prepare oral reports on various psychological topics.

Faculty will prepare and deliver lectures on various psychological topics.

Faculty will avail themselves for office appointments for students to explore their progress in the course as needed.

Faculty will advise students to use the Academic Center for Excellence (ACE Lab) for academic help when needed.

 

Printer-friendly Version:

Download Syllabus

 

College-wide policies and resources

For more specific information on Chipola's college-wide academic policies and resources available to students, visit the link below.

Policies & Resources