PPE2001

Psychology of Personality

Course Code:
PPE2001

Credit Hours:
3

Effective beginning:
2022-23

 

 

Course Description:
This course will provide students with a review and critical evaluation of the major personality theories within the field of psychology.

Course Details

Instructors:

Kassandra Starrine
starrinek@chipola.edu

Willie Spires
spiresw@chipola.edu

Rachel Rackard
rackardr@chipola.edu

Allison Hausner
hausnera@chipola.edu

Tameka Russ
russt@chipola.edu

Lennetta Loman-Greene
greenel@chipola.edu

Sarah Gambill
gambills@chipola.edu

Jessica Craven
cravenj@chipola.edu

 

 

 

Required textbooks/ course materials:

Burger, J. (2019). Personality w/MindTap, 10th ed., Cengage. ISBN: 9781337747103

 

Assignment/course outline:

See first-day handout

 

Discipline-level learning outcomes:

SS-1 Identify behaviors and social trends, using appropriate research methodologies.

SS-2 Identify global influences on social, behavioral, and historical issue.

SS-3 Examine significant historical events.

SS-4 Identify differences and commonalities within diverse cultures.

 

Course-level learning outcomes:

Course-level student learning outcomesDiscipline-level learning outcomesAssessment methods
  • Compare and contrast the various theoretical models of personality.
  • Show different methods of personality research.
  • Evaluate existing theories of personality from a variety of perspectives.
  • Discuss how history and culture has shaped the field of personality psychology.

SS-1, SS-2, SS-3, SS-4

SS-1, SS-2, SS-3, SS-4

SS-1, SS-2, SS-3, SS-4

SS-1, SS-2, SS-3, SS-4 

Quizzes, Research Papers, Unit Tests

 

Means of accomplishing learning outcomes:

  • Read all assigned materials
  • Attend and participate in class discussions
  • Complete study guides and notes from class discussions and lectures
  • Courses taught under the auspices of the Social and Behavioral Sciences will include an oral component, oral presentations and/or classroom discussions

Note: Online and Distance Learning Courses will not contain the oral component

 

College-wide policies and resources

For more specific information on Chipola's college-wide academic policies and resources available to students, visit the link below.