Excess Hours Surcharge

Section 1009.086. Florida Statute s, established an “excess hour” surcharge for a student seeking a baccalaureate degree at a state university. Specifically, students enrolling at a State University in or after Fall Semester 2009 will pay a surcharge equal to 100% of the tuition rate for each excess credit hour. The Florida Legislature has defined “excess hours” as hours that exceed by 110% the completion requirements for your baccalaureate degree program at the University. This is the equivalent of 132 hours for students in a 120-hour degree program.

The law provides for the following exceptions, in which instance the excess hours surcharge will be waived for additional college coursework taken:

1. Articulated accelerated credit (e.g. Advance Placement, International Baccalaureate,CLEP, Dual Enrollment, etc.)

2. Internship credit

3. Certification/Recertification credit (e.g. teacher, nurses, etc.) and certificate programcredits

4. Credits withdrawn due to medical or personal hardship

5. Credits taken by active-duty military personnel

6. Credits required to achieve a dual major (NOTE: the law only exempts those hours“required” to obtain a dual major, rather than every credit hour a dual major studentchooses to enroll in.)

7.Remedial and English as a Second Language (ESOL) credit

8. Military Science credits in Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC) programs